Halloweening Continues. Be Afraid. Be VERY Afraid.

Moxie reported on some earlier Halloweening that went on around here. Usually I try to have all my Halloweening done on October 1 (not BEFORE, not AFTER, ON OCTOBER 1.) However, Fall Fest got in the way. And then after Fall Fest, I felt like Halloween was kinda sorta over a little bit already. That’s one thing I don’t like about it. Also, drunk pretzel machine delivery guys who reek of vodka (yes, alcoholics, people CAN smell it on your breath) and who don’t deliver the oven part of the machine, and then someone else from the rental place has to bring it to me a half hour after Fall Fest already starts, and Stu and Christi Shipinski are running back and forth from the school microwave to the concessions table half the day with pretzels instead of enjoying Fall Fest stuff. But mostly the Halloween let-down part.

Back to the Halloweening.

If you’re unlucky enough to be my Facebook friend, you’ve already seen my spooky Halloween village in action:

Now I’ve tricked out my sideboard:

IMG_0244I have to figure out what to put in my bowl.

witchy

It’s a very tricky proposition; it has to be something people like, but not so much that they deplete it within an hour. In the past I’ve put bananas in there, but I’ve been having bad luck with bananas lately. They either have black spots inside, or they stay green for three days and then — ka-BLAM! — turn dark brown in five minutes when I’m not looking. No, I’m not crazy. My mom said she has the same problem with bananas lately, too. Alright, quoting my mom is not proof I’m not crazy, but still.

Also, I need to do up the downstairs, too. It’s where we watch our spooky movies, so it’s got to be done. I will not allow my children to watch spooky Halloween movies in a room without a giant wax jack-0-lantern, fake spiderwebs and a decorated fireplace mantel. What sort of parent would I be if I let that happen?

In closing, I’d like to leave you with a jack-o-lantern joke:

Q: Why was the jack-o-lantern afraid to cross the road? A: It had no guts! – See more here.

(p.s. I like Halloween. a LOT.)

(p.p.s. Thor Guard just went off in the park at 10:18 a.m. There isn’t a cloud in the sky. What does he know that we don’t?)

About susiecarroll

I threw off the yoke of corporate oppression for the apron of domestic aggression
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halloweening Continues. Be Afraid. Be VERY Afraid.

    • susiecarroll says:

      Raisins in the Halloween bowl? Do you mean in oatmeal cookies, or just plain raisins? Because I don’t think that sh*t’s gonna fly around here. I could cause some sort of riot, or at the very least, a wildcat strike.

Leave a Reply

