Boo, Hiss, Hinsdale!

Tonight, Downers Grove South footballers will battle long time rivals Hinsdale South (c’mon, it’s mostly Darien kids, let’s be honest) for the Rebel Cannon

photo courtesy of Burr Ridge Patch, although the original story has been taken down. Just like all my articles from DG Patch. Jerks.

photo courtesy of Burr Ridge Patch, although the original story has been taken down. Just like all my articles from DG Patch. Jerks.

(because we’re both SOUTH, get it?)

while across town Downers Grove North will be battling THEIR long time rivals Hinsdale Central for… the Old Oaken Bucket.

I don't know who took this picture or who owns it. I will be happy to credit it if claimed

I don’t know who took this picture or who owns it. I will be happy to credit it if claimed

(Really? Whatever you say… bucket lovers)

I don’t have any idea why we supposedly hate Hinsdale when everyone knows the really evil nearby town is Naperville. True, there are some uppity snobs who live there (but most of them are fighting over a bucket on the north side). They also have a weird attachment to that Greco-Roman revivalist Georgian architecture, like they’re pretending they’re Colonial Williamsburg or something:

hinsdale library

But I don’t have a real problem with Hinsdale. Both my daughters were born there. My doctor is there. No one looks down on me as I drive through town in my Honda, because I could be a very important person’s nanny or cleaning lady or something. But because I went to Downers Grove South and my children will go to Downers Grove South, I am their sworn enemy! Death to the evildoers, and their devil spawn mascot, the Honey Nut Cheerios Bee:

beeAlso, a more important competition is taking place tomorrow: The DGS Music Bowl. Band geeks RULE!

About susiecarroll

I threw off the yoke of corporate oppression for the apron of domestic aggression
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boo, Hiss, Hinsdale!

  1. Brian says:

    As a long-time (its been at least a month) financial ($5 so far) supporter of the McCollum Park Picayune, I reject the assumption that the Hinsdale South mighty Hornet is a “Honey Nut Cheerios Bee”! It is actually the Georgia Tech “Buzz” Mascot and at HSHS, we pay to use the great logo!

    At any rate, good luck to the Mustangs, but go Hornets!

Leave a Reply

