Read All About It: Kids Are Reading All About It!

photo courtesy of Rich Carroll. "Sold Out" courtesy of our awesome kids who read!

photo courtesy of Rich Carroll. “Sold Out” courtesy of our awesome kids who read!

Way, way back on October 26, something special happened*: kids in Downers Grove (including my daughter and several others from our neighborhood) packed the Tivoli to hear an author speak about her book series that hasn’t even been made into a movie yet. I’m going to let that sink in a minute.

The line wrapped around the block to get in. As you can see from the sign, it was SOLD OUT. To hear an author just TALK about a book. (Note: this event brought by independent Anderson’s Bookstore of Downers Grove)

At a time when these dismal survey results came out, I was thrilled to see that happen.

Thank you, Veronica Roth and others who continue to produce quality stories that capture the imagination of our kids and keep them reading. Let’s hope this habit lasts a lifetime!

*A lot of special things happened that day. It was the day of a million fun things in Downers Grove. I really wanted to write about this and all the other fun things, but bronchitis knocked the wind out of my sails. Did I mention I hate bronchitis? I did? Well, good. Because I really, really do.

About susiecarroll

I threw off the yoke of corporate oppression for the apron of domestic aggression
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Read All About It: Kids Are Reading All About It!

  1. nickseam says:

    Anderson’s is pretty great about getting popular authors to come talk. I went to see Neil Gaiman when they brought him. (I also got to go backstage and meet him because I had the hookup – but that’s neither here nor there)

    Kudos to Anderson’s for a fine event and kudos to V. Roth for engaging with screaming, sycophantic children for like 8 hours.

Leave a Reply

