Downers Grub: Nutter Butter Mutters

nutterbutterleadToday, I found a recipe for homemade Nutter Butters. I also found these and these, but that’s not important right now. What IS important that I am a grown woman still wounded by a childhood deprived (largely) of Nutter Butters, a cookie that has enthralled me since I first laid eyes on this commercial:

But here’s the thing about Nutter Butters: they’re never on sale. NEVER. They don’t sell them at Costco (that I’ve seen) and they don’t go on sale because they don’t have to; rabid fans will buy them at any price. Even Oreos go on sale, despite the enthusiastic following they enjoy. But there are generic versions of Oreos, while no one has successfully replicated a Nutter Butter in the whole history of mankind, including the ancient Egyptians with their fancy pyramids and whatnot. The only thing that upsets Nutter Butter fans is if you change the shape (because why in God’s name would you do such a thing??!!)

But now, with this recipe I have yet to try yet I am convinced is wonderful because I need this so very, very badly, I will have the power to create Nutter Butters in my very own kitchen with my very own hands.

I will let you know how it works out.

By the way, did you know they don’t have Nutter Butters in Canada? Might explain the troubles their elected officials are having. It might not, but we can’t rule it out, can we?

Next week I will start talking about Thanksgiving. I get pretty excited about it, too.

 

About susiecarroll

I threw off the yoke of corporate oppression for the apron of domestic aggression
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Downers Grub: Nutter Butter Mutters

  1. Neil says:

    You SO want to make Nutter Butters? Why don’t you just buy them?

Leave a Reply

